Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Showing thousands of skeins ? 7602

Newbie Posts: 3 *
Showing thousands of skeins ?
« on: November 10, 2020, 04:17:37 PM »
Hi, I am new to this, I have managed to work out the system and have produced a few cross stitch charts with success, however the last two days I am getting the correct amount of colours but thousands of skeins, what am I doing wrong please. Thanks Mark.
Site admin Administrator Full Member Posts: 108 *****
Re: Showing thousands of skeins ?
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2020, 11:06:55 AM »
You are doing nothing wrong, the software has been recently updated  ;D

The color list now shows the number of stitches, rather than the number of skeins. There are a few reasons for this move.
  • First of all, the number of skeins has always been a guesstimate, not an accurate number. Depending of the aida count of the fabric, how colors are distributed over the pattern and the skills of the user, the actual needed number of skeins may differ
  • Some people have asked for the option to manually replace colors if only a handful of stitches have to be stitched. With only showing the number of skeins, it is difficult to detemine if a color is only used for two, or twohundred stitches.
  • Last but not least, the pattern generator is not only used for cross-stitching, but also for other hobbies. For these users, the number of skeins gives little information but the number of stitches can be useful.
For these reasons, the number of skeins has been replaced by the number of stitches. If you still need to know a guesstimate of the number of skeins, I will now disclose the secret formula used in the previous software version to you:

Pic2Pat previously divided the number of stitches by 1600 to calculate the number of skeins. You should be able to do this by hand  ;)
« Last Edit: November 11, 2020, 11:13:12 AM by lammert »
Newbie Posts: 4 *